Lost in the Wilderness

Lost in the wilderness. No one around. Just you, and your shining hand. You saved me, you rescued me from the desolate land. No sense of direction, no idea where to go. I wander, I cry. You lead me to and fro.

Lost in the wilderness, you’re all that I have. All else was left behind. No possessions, no friends. At first I didn’t mind.

Alone in the wilderness, no one to share this pain. No one to understand. The shadows taunt me, I’m going insane.

Night in the wilderness my hand vanishes before my eyes. Please don’t leave me, for I will surely die.

Cold in the wilderness, my body shivers in this armor of mine. Sleep flees from me, the noises encircle. My fear is on high. What is there? Is it good or does it lie?

Horror in the wilderness the howls draw near. How much more must I take? I wish they’d disappear.

Daybreak in the wilderness, but guard is still up. I’m not through this yet, there is still more to come. I see your hand what a shining lamp. I run towards it, another lonely camp. I’m still so alone. You’re here with me, I know, but you’re still so distant. You teach me and train me, for what I don’t know. It’s for my own good, but I feel resistant.

Evening in the wilderness the shrieks start to grow. As the sun sets, they’re coming for me, I know. I fight for my life, I fend them off. These beasts, these demons, yet they still scoff. In the dark, I hear one say, “We’ve got you, you’re done. You’re not worthy to save.”

Betrayed in the wilderness. what’s going on? I thought I was safe. They beat me, and chain me and drag me away. Where are you? Where are you? You said you’d never leave. Now I don’t feel you, nor anything but grief.

Abandoned in the wilderness, I’m in this pit. I think of the past, and feel I should quit. I trusted and obeyed. I worked without delay. It’s all over now, I might as well give up. I have no strength left, I’m completely beat up. In this dark hour, something inside keeps me from just letting go. You will come through for me, this I know.

Rescued in the wilderness, I hear a noise. The beasts are sent running with their devices and toys. You came, and you fought. I leap in rejoice.

Morning in the wilderness, as the sun rises I’m reminded of a word, “Not by strength or by might, but by my Spirit” is all that I heard. I see your hand guiding me again. My faith is renewed, my strength is regained.

Saved from the wilderness, I see the goal. I dart towards it to escape the black hole. Across the river is my new home. The land of milk and honey, I’m no longer alone. A stone, a crown, a gleaming flower. It’s all for me, there’s no reason to cower. I thank you, true. But you’re not through. There’s one more thing, I see that it’s you. The pure white light, the warm glow. I almost didn’t see the holes that were shown. In your hands and your feet, they were so small. But the meaning behind them shows you’ve conquered it all.

By 314Apologia

Aspiring Apologist

Leave a comment