How Much Do I Need You?

How much do I need you, Lord?

For every sin, iniquity, and transgression

without You, I’d be in despair.

For every thought, every action,

every misconception, accusation, and passion.

For every stolen item or even the idea thereof.

For the anger, for not treating my neighbor as I should.

I need You, Lord. I see

every hour, every minute, every second of every day.

For the omission and the commission

for the times, I’ve said no when it should have been a yes,

and the times I’ve said yes when it should have been a no

As I grow and walk with You, I see more and more

I need you, Lord. Everything else is a bore.

Without Your love, Your grace, Your embrace,

there’d be no joy, contentment, or solace.

How much do I need You, Lord?

Your conviction, correction, and consolation?

I cannot count. I cannot measure, I cannot fathom

for the filthiness, temptation, and the will, all of them,

none of it thrills through Your lens,

it only leads to sorrow that never ends.

How much do I need You, Lord?

The answer to this question is known only to You

but one day, I’ll look back and see just how much it was

that I truly needed You.

By 314Apologia

Aspiring Apologist

Leave a comment